The Future of the NLC – eNLC

In 2015 the Nurse Licensure Compact underwent various revisions resulting in what is now referred to as the enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC). Currently there are 25 member states with more on the way. Moving forward, most NLC states and non-compact states are beginning the process in joining the enhanced NLC.

The eNLC provides a pathway for the nursing industry to deliver quality healthcare across the country without having to obtain additional state specific licenses. The need of a multi-state license system has never been more prevalent than our present time. There is an abundant need for dynamic care to be delivered in an efficient manner across state boundaries and the eNLC will aid in achieving that goal.

Moving Forward

Currently there are 25 member states in the NLC. Those member states, as well as the remaining 25 will be required to introduce legislation in the near future to enter into the eNLC. This should come as a relief to those within the travel nursing industry, opening up numerous opportunities to practice the profession of nursing in any state.

The NLC has been operational for more than 15 years. With its founding in 1997 and implementation in 2000, it has been the longest standing operational model of interstate practice of its kind.

Moving forward, two states have joined the eNLC in the last two months. As of May 9, 2017 the state of  Georgia has enacted the enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC). Governor Nathan Deal signed the bill to join the other 21 states that are currently members.  Texas Governor Greg Abbott signed the bill into effect June 9, 2017 to join the eNLC as well.

List of Member States

  1. Arizona
  2. Arkansas
  3. Florida
  4. Georgia
  5. Idaho
  6. Iowa
  7. Kentucky
  8. Maryland
  9. Mississippi
  10. Missouri
  11. Montana
  12. Nebraska
  13. New Hampshire
  14. North Dakota
  15. Oklahoma
  16. South Carolina
  17. South Dakota
  18. Tennessee
  19. Texas
  20. Utah
  21. Virginia
  22. West Virginia
  23. Wyoming

The Enhanced NLC needs 26 states enacted to take effect. Currently there are 23 members; it seems the eNLC could begin its implementations as soon as 2018. Any questions regarding the NLC and eNLC can be answered in full by a TaleMed representative at (800) 494-0087. Below are some helpful links:

Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC) Implementation:

Nurse Licensure Compact: