eNLC News: Wisconsin Approves New Compact

The state government in Wisconsin announced last week that it will join the Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC).

What does it mean for you?

Fifteen years ago, the Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC) was created to make it possible for many nurses to travel and practice in multiple states across the country. Twenty-five states made up the original NLC. A primary reason cited for states hesitant to join the compact was the lack of uniform criminal background check (CBC) requirements among NLC states.

The Board of Nursing decided to make some enhancements to the original NLC to address this issue, as well as some others, with the ultimate goal of having all states join the compact. The result…

The Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC)

Your state was part of the original NLC and chose to join the eNLC, which became official on July 20, 2017 . There are now 29 states on board. The eNLC implementation date is January 19, 2017. At that time, eNLC states will begin issuing multistate licenses and nurses can practice across the eNLC.

One state, Rhode Island, was previously in the original NLC and has not yet chosen not to join the eNLC. So eNLC licenses will no longer be valid there. However, there are five new states where your license will now be valid: Florida, Georgia, Oklahoma, West Virginia and Wyoming.

For states that are new to the Compact License, nurses with these licenses are not automatically granted a multi-state license in these new states. Learn how to turn your existing license into a multi-state license at your state’s site:

We will continue to update our TaleMed nurses as the adoption of the eNLC is ongoing. If at any time you have questions about your license and where it is valid, talk to your recruiter.

See this update from the Wisconsin Nurses Association.

Have questions? Want us to contact you?

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Compact License